Pregnancy

Waiting to Have Children

These days, more and more Women are waiting to have their first child, and I was one of them. Now that the BIG 3-0 is approaching, I know that if I want to have a child, that time is now. Having spent my entire 20s doing what I want and living my life to the fullest, I feel that I am ready to become a Parent.

This October my Husband and I will have been together for 13 years. We have had plenty of time to be selfish, to focus on ourselves/eachother, our relationship, goals and much more. We know that having a Child would mean sacrificing those things.

Quite some time ago, someone once gave me some absolutely terrible advice. They told me to quit using Birth Control without my Significant other knowing, to get pregnant, because that’s what they did. I remember being totally shocked and appalled being told this kind of advice. Why on Earth would I want to trick my Husband into having a Child!? The fact that he wasn’t ready for a Baby at the time, and I felt that I was, was not a reason to do such an atrocious thing! I’m am truly glad I waited those several years for him to come to me and say, “I am ready to have a baby.” That was what I had wanted all along. For us to decide to take such a momentous step in our lives, together.

Leave a Reply

