Pregnancy

Quad Test Results


I called my OB’s Office today to inquire about the results of the Quad Test I had last week. The Quad Test is a maternal blood screening test that looks for 4 specific substances:

  • Alpha-fetoprotein (AFP), a protein made by the developing baby
  • Human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG), a hormone made by the placenta
  • Estriol, a hormone made by the placenta and the baby’s liver
  • Inhibin A, another hormone made by the placenta

The test is used to assess probabilities of potential genetic disorders in the Baby.

Apparently no news is good news. My results came back negative/normal. Yay!! Every step in the right direction is such a relief! I’m trying not to worry about everything, especially things I can’t control. I’m placing my Pregnancy in God’s hands.  

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.    -1 Peter 5:7

My 2nd Ultrasound is in 13 days and they will check that my Baby is growing and developing normally. We will also be finding out the gender of our Baby! 

Leave a Reply

